Home > Graphics, Plans > 3d Plans

3d Plans

Lately I’ve seen some colorized strange attractors around the web that could not have been produced simply by applying a colored gradient to a greyscale image… The distribution of color is too intricate and the colors seem to follow the different forms and branches of the attractor.

I’m not yet 100% sure how this is done, but I have one idea that I’d like to try.

Imagine that I introduce a third dimension, ‘Z’ to the strange attractor, and I use a pixel’s depth into this dimension to determine its color of the attractor at that point.

The pixels would be gathered with an additive effect in an RGB array. Hopefully this would result in a nice “colored smoke” effect.

I imagine it something like this:

      |  / hue
      | /
      |/
x-----+-----
     /|
    / |
   /  |
      y

In a similar vein, I have been thinking of using 3D attractors to produce an animation. My plan is that each frame of the animation is a 2D slice of the attractor, moving back through the Z axis, like this:

      |  / time
      | /
      |/
x-----+-----
     /|
    / |
   /  |
      y

In the mean time here’s another 2D strange attractor… some more candy for your eyes!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

