Home > Uncategorized > That’s just a giant logo

That’s just a giant logo

Lately I’ve been feeling quite nostalgic about the turtle graphic environment, Logo. Then I saw this and my new mini-obsession was confirmed:
marriedtothesea.com
[marriedtothesea.com]

I certainly have some fond memories of my early programming efforts in Logo. First on a Commodore 64, circa 9 years old, with some Logo disks borrowed from school. This version supported music and animation (sprites even!) and was great fun. I even had to learn trigonometry prematurely in order to complete the base of my leaning tower of Pisa (so that the bungee jumper had something to jump from.)

Later at high school we used Logo on the Amiga 500 as part of the scandalously brief computer studies curriculum. Who would of thought in 1992 that computers would be an important part of our future? Anyway I don’t remember this version having any particularly special capabilities. I do remember being set tasks such as “A working set of traffic lights” and “A cake with flickering candles” while the rest of the class was tasked with “a circle” or “a stack of squares”.

More recently, when I first discovered the Python programming language, the “turtle”  module in the standard library was the first method of creating graphics that I discovered. Thankfully I’ve discovered better methods since.

So what am I feeling so nostalgic for? The Lisp-like Logo programming language, or just turtle graphics in general? Probably a little of both. That is, I feel like I’d like to revisit the original Logo language, or even dive into learning Common Lisp. On the other hand, something like Cheloniidae looks like a lot of fun and that’s a Java library.

Either way, expect to see lots of circles and stacks of squares on this blog soon.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. May 11, 2010 at 4:01 am

    I feel compelled to mention my own implementation of Logo purely as a JavaScript app. Runs in your browser (unless you use IE):

    http://www.amberfrog.com/logo/

    • May 11, 2010 at 4:59 pm

      Nicely done. It doesn’t seem to be much slower than turtle.py either 🙂
      It seems a bit buggy on Firefox 3 (Win XP) — ie. no drawing is visible south of the turtle’s starting position.

  2. May 11, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    Ah yes, thanks for reminding me about the FF3 bug. By the far hardest part of the project so far was getting the drawable area positioned and sized correctly in all the browsers I’d tested!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

